Night Two…Throw Together Vegetable Soup

I woke up this morning and didn’t feel good at all. Maybe it was from too much excitement last night, thanks to the Cardinals keeping their World Series dreams alive. Whatever the case, I knew I needed something simple that would be easy to eat, so I began making a roast for Beef and Noodles.

(Jake says the above picture looks like something from Hannibal Lecter. :/)

Then, I found out we’d be having family over tonight for the game, so I needed to find out how to multiply the food a bit. I decided to start opening cans and adding seasoning, and this is what I came up with. 🙂  It served 4, with no leftovers!

1.5 lb of Roast
1 Medium Onion (cut into 8ths)
32 oz Beef Broth
2 Cans of Whole New Potatoes (drained)
1 Can of Diced Tomatoes (retain juice!)
1 Can of Green Beans (drained)
1 Can of Corn (drained)
2 Tsp Garlic Salt
1 Tsp Onion Powder
1/2 Tsp Italian Seasoning
Salt and Pepper to Taste

1. Place roast, beef broth, and onion in crockpot. Add garlic salt, onion powder and cook on high for about 6 hours.
2. Sometime in the middle of the cook time (3-4 hours into cooking), shred the roast by taking 2 forks and pulling it apart

 

3. After that,I added each of the remaining ingredients, stirred it, and placed the lid back on
4. After the full 6 hours, dish it up as soup!

 

 

I also made homemade cornbread to go with it. We like our cornbread sweet, so if you don’t like “cake,” I wouldn’t use this recipe. 🙂 Here it is, for those who are curious.

1 Cup All-Purpose Flour
1 Cup Cornmeal (I used white, this time)
3/4 Cup White Sugar
1 Tsp Salt
3 1/2 Tsp Baking Powder
1 Egg
1 Cup of Milk
1/3 Cup of Vegetable Oil

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees farenheit
2. Spray or grease 9 inch cake pan
3. In a large bowl, combine flour, cornmeal, sugar, salt, and baking powder. Stir in egg, milk, and oil until well combined.
4. Pour batter into pan
5. Bake in oven for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick will come out of the center of the pan clean.

 

 

What we decided – We all really liked this.  There was plenty of meat in it to make it hearty enough for Jake, but there was a healthy portion of veggies to make me happy.  I can’t say that I’d do anything differently to the soup.  The cornbread is an old recipe, and it was great, as well. We would definitely eat this meal again, after the challenge is up! 🙂

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Night/Day Seven…Hearty Chili | Peace For Riley

Leave a Reply

