Night Fifteen…Italian Chicken Soup

Another very easy soup recipe experiment from my kitchen. 🙂  I love to just throw stuff into a pot and see what happens.

Ingredients:

3 16 oz cans of chicken broth

1 lb of chicken tenders

1 can of diced tomatoes with juice

1 can of butter beans

1 cup sliced carrots

1 cup diced celery

1 cup diced onion

1 tbsp garlic salt

2 tsp Italian seasoning

8 oz. Mini Shells Pasta

2 tsp dried parsley

Cook chicken tenders, celery, and onion in boiling chicken broth until tender (no pun intended!).  This should take 15-20 minutes.  Remove tenders from pot and cut into bite sized pieces.  Return to broth.   Add  spices and all other ingredients (except pasta).  Simmer for 15-20 minutes, or until carrots are tender.  Add pasta during last 15 minutes of cooking.  Tip: the longer it cooks the less broth is left over.  The pasta uses it all up. 🙂  If you like the broth in your soup, don’t allow it to simmer for a prolonged period of time.

I served this with grilled cheese.

Is it a keeper?-I loved it, but I love soups, and especially chicken soup!  The Italian seasoning adds a little something to it, to make it different.  The pasta made it very filling, too.  Once again, give it a shot, and tell me what you think! 🙂

Happy Eating!

2 responses

  1. When I was a nanny during college, I would make homemade chicken soup for the kids all of the time and it always surprised me how easily it would all come together. As soon as it gets cold enough, I’m trying this version.

Leave a Reply

