Night Sixteen…Oven Un-Fried Chicken

I pulled this one off of a website when I got home last night. 🙂

http://maddieruud.hubpages.com/hub/Oven-Fried_Chicken

 

Quick Un-fried Chicken

Ingredients

  • 6 pieces skinless chicken
  • 1 cup coarsely crushed corn flake cereal
  • 1 Tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tsp water
  • 1 tsp salt
  • pepper to taste

Instructions

Preheat oven to 400 F. Spray cookie sheet with zero-calorie non-stick cooking spray. Combine dry ingredients (salt, pepper, flour, corn flakes) in shallow dish. Beat egg white lightly in pie plate. Dip chicken pieces into egg, then into flour mixture to coat. Place on cookie sheet, spray tops with cooking spray. Bake 40 minutes or until chicken turns golden brown.

 

 

Is it a keeper? – It was pretty good, although I think it needs an extra SOMETHING.  I don’t know if garlic or cajun seasoning would make it more flavorful, but it’s something I’ll try if I do this one again. 🙂

 

And now…introducing a new feature in the blog…The Messiness Factor!

At the suggestion of my husband, I’m adding this to each post (he’s pretty smart, huh?).  Did you know the two reasons people don’t cook more at home are: A) They don’t want to cook (Duh!) and B) They don’t want to clean the mess up afterward.  I’ve got to be honest, there have been times when the thought of messing up a freshly cleaned kitchen have driven me to the nearest Chinese Take-out.

This new feature is to give you a rough idea of what to expect, mess-wise.  🙂  So….here it goes…

 

Messiness Factor: 3 out of 5.  I messed up three different bowls, a baking sheet (although I cut that work in half by spreading aluminum foil on the bottom of it), and 2 different utensils.  I definitely wish I would have had an apron for this. The flour can get messy (there again, though, Momma always said I am the messiest cook she knows :/ ).  The great thing about this, though, is that if you clean as you go, you can have the majority of the mess cleaned back up by the time you pull the chicken out of the oven. 🙂

 

Happy Eating!

 

4 responses

  1. Oh I know what you mean on the messiness! Everytime I make something similar, I always consider the fact that I have to clean the three bowls just for breading the chicken.

    And I usually add some paprika too the breading. The other night I made a chicken parm similar to this and added parmesan, italian seasonings, and garlic powder to the breading. It’s awesome!

  2. Lol! Feel free to make whichever comments you’d like. 🙂 Feedback is always welcomed! And Amanda, I think that what I’ll try next time! This was a good base recipe, but it needed some flavoring. Momma Faith, I’m pretty sure the website said this was low-cal. I think you and Father Frank would like it, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

