Night Seventeen…Crockpot Jambalaya

 

I told my mama yesterday that I was craving something with a cajun kick…so this is what we had for dinner tonight.

 

http://catsandcasseroles.blogspot.com/2011/10/slow-cooker-jambalaya.html

I actually did double the chicken and half the sausage, since I’m not a huge fan of the sausage. I also used paprika in place of the cayenne pepper, since I didn’t have any of the pepper.  I used an extra bell pepper, too. It turned out wonderfully, with just enough kick to not have to add hot sauce, but not TOO much at all!  It could very easily be made a light meal, by changing the sausage to turkey sausage.  There are plenty of veggies in it to get your fiber in! 🙂

Is it a keeper?-For sure!  I loved it, and Jake thought it was spicy enough for him.  I’ll make it again. 🙂

Messiness Factor: 4 out of 5-I’m giving this one a four because of all the prep work involved.  Unfortunately, even though this meal is great, it’s not something you can do in 5 minutes before you head to work.  You have to have the work done ahead of time.  Once you get past the cutting board, though, it’s a two pot meal (including the rice pot). 🙂

Leave a Reply

