Night Twenty Three…Super Tender Pork Steaks

Jake and I love pork steaks.  They’re decently inexpensive, but they always make me feel like I’m eating something more substantial.  Since we’ve been married, we’ve pretty much come to the conclusion that we would rather have them baked than grilled; they always wind up being so much more tender.  So here’s my never fail, superbly awesome process for making pork steaks. It takes a bit of time, but they always turn out wonderfully! (And yes, I’m bragging a little, but this is the one dish I feel like I could probably make in my sleep.  I’ve learned to perfect it over the past few years) 🙂

 

The secret ingredient is Tony Chachere’s Creole Seasoning.  It looks like this:

 

I use this on everything.  It’s like my season-all. 🙂  I sprinkle the Creole seasoning and some garlic salt on pork steaks.  I use the two seasonings almost like a dry rub.  I usually allow the steaks to sit in the fridge after they have been seasoned for a couple of hours.  It’s an extra step, and not completely necessary, but it makes them extra good! 🙂

Place seasoned steaks in a 13 x 9 pan covered with aluminum foil.  Bake in oven at 275 degrees for two hours.  The key here is to cook it low and slow.  During the last 30 minutes of cook time, cover steaks in barbecue sauce. They should be fall-apart tender by the time they are done, and they’re oh-so-yummy!

I always serve with some kind of cheesy side; tonight we had cheesy potatoes, but mac n cheese is awesome with them, too!

Messiness factor: 1 out of 5.  You can actually do this whole process using one pan.  Yup.  It’s that awesome and easy.  And if you use the aluminum foil on the bottom of the pan, as suggested, it makes cleaning the pan out extra easy. 🙂  Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

